



Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association

1970 Oakcrest Avenue, Suite 204 Roseville, MN 55113 Contact: Simone LaBonté, Communications Manager 952.297-8672

Roseville Principal, Maura Weyandt, Receives Professional Leadership Award





Maura Weyandt

(Roseville, MN, February 22, 2024) – The Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association (MESPA) recognized Maura Weyandt, principal of Edgerton Elementary, Roseville Area Schools, with the MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award for MESPA's East Suburban Division. Principals are responsible for promoting a positive school culture, guiding instruction, and providing leadership. Principal Weyandt was recognized by colleagues statewide on February 8, 2024, at the Mespys, the premier elementary principal celebration of the year celebrated during MESPA Institute, the annual statewide convention of Minnesota's elementary and middle-level principals.

Principal Weyandt notes, "The best part of being a principal is the people you get to share experiences with. That's students, educators, families and colleagues. I am fortunate to work and learn with incredible leaders in our division. This award is an honor and I would like to thank my colleagues for their collaboration and dedication to education."

Heidi George, principal of Justice Alan Page Elementary and president-elect of the East Suburban Division, emphasized, "Maura exudes motivational leadership. She is grounded in relationships, building community and ensuring equity in education."

MESPA members selected 13 of their peers to receive the 2023 MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award. Michelle Krell, MESPA Executive Director, congratulated the award winners, "The MESPA Division Leadership Award goes to principals who demonstrate exemplary leadership within their schools, communities, and our association. They embody transformational leadership, propelled by genuine care and dedication to their students, staff, and communities. Their knowledge, enthusiasm, passion, and commitment significantly enrich our association."

2024 MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award Recipients

- **MESPA Central Division** Jennifer Olson, Humphrey and Winsted Elementary Schools, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Public Schools
- MESPA Northern Division Kelsey Johnson, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Elementary, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School District
- MESPA Western Division Chris Ellingson, Hawley Elementary, Hawley Public Schools
- MESPA East Suburban Division Maura Weyandt, Edgerton Elementary, Roseville Area Schools
- MESPA West Suburban Division Eduardo Navidad, Alice Smith Elementary, Hopkins Public Schools

- **MESPA North Suburban Division** Jack Shields, DaVinci Academy of Arts and Science, charter school in Ham Lake.
- **MESPA South Suburban Division** Christine Evans, Southview Elementary, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District
- **MESPA Northeast Division** Clayton Linder, East Rapids and West Rapids Elementary Schools, Grand Rapids School District
- **MESPA Southeast Division** Nick Jurrens, Jefferson Elementary, Fairbault Public Schools
- **MESPA Southwest Division** Doreen Oelke, South Elementary, Saint Peter Public Schools
- **MESPA Saint Paul Division** Sarah Lightner, Groveland Park, Saint Paul Public Schools
- **MESPA Minneapolis Division** Vicki Turner, Kenny Elementary School, Minneapolis Public School District
- Retired Principals of MESPA Jim Hoogheem

-- end --

The Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association (MESPA) is the premier leadership resource for elementary and middle level principals, dedicated to connecting, developing, and providing resources for principals, and serving as a leading voice for Minnesota education.