

MEDIA RELEASE

Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association

1970 Oakcrest Avenue, Suite 204 Roseville, MN 55113

Contact: Simone LaBonté, Communications Manager 952.297-8672

Faribault Principal, Nick Jurrens, Receives Professional Leadership Award





Nick Jurrens

(Roseville, MN, February 29, 2024) – The Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association (MESPA) recognizes Nick Jurrens, principal of Jefferson Elementary at Faribault Public Schools, with the MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award for MESPA's Southeast Division. Principals are responsible for promoting a positive school culture, guiding instruction, and providing leadership. Principal Jurrens was recognized by colleagues statewide on February 8, 2024, at the Mespys, the premier elementary principal celebration of the year celebrated during MESPA Institute, the annual statewide convention of Minnesota's elementary and middle-level principals.

Principal Jurrens notes, "I'm so grateful to learn from and be supported by MESPA Leadership and colleagues the past eight years. A special thank you goes out to: My SE MESPA colleagues for their ongoing support and collaboration; Jon Millerhagen for his friendship and support, especially in my early years; Michelle Krell, who was one of my mentor principals while I was a teacher; my family for supporting the busy life of a principal; and our Jefferson Elementary Team and my Faribault Public Schools leadership colleagues who challenge me daily. This award is a tribute to all those who have and continue to support me in my leadership journey."

Amanda Durnen, principal of Byron Primary School and the Southeast Division's president, emphasized, "Nick has been an outstanding colleague and MESPA leader! He is committed to making the school experience a positive and meaningful journey. He successfully balances work and MESPA leadership duties along with spending time with his family. Nick is forward-thinking with his ideas and is always up to try a new challenge."

MESPA members selected 13 of their peers to receive the 2023 MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award. Michelle Krell, MESPA Executive Director, congratulated the award winners, "The MESPA Division Leadership Award goes to principals who demonstrate exemplary leadership within their schools, communities, and our association. They embody transformational leadership, propelled by genuine care and dedication to their students, staff, and communities. Their knowledge, enthusiasm, passion, and commitment significantly enrich our association."

2024 MESPA Division Leadership Achievement Award Recipients

- **MESPA Central Division** Jennifer Olson, Humphrey and Winsted Elementary Schools, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Public Schools
- **MESPA Northern Division** Kelsey Johnson, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Elementary, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School District
- MESPA Western Division Chris Ellingson, Hawley Elementary, Hawley Public Schools
- **MESPA East Suburban Division** Maura Weyandt, Edgerton Elementary, Roseville Area Schools
- **MESPA West Suburban Division** Eduardo Navidad, Alice Smith Elementary, Hopkins Public Schools

- **MESPA North Suburban Division** Jack Shields, DaVinci Academy of Arts and Science, charter school in Ham Lake.
- **MESPA South Suburban Division** Christine Evans, Southview Elementary, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District
- **MESPA Northeast Division** Clayton Linder, East Rapids and West Rapids Elementary Schools, Grand Rapids School District
- MESPA Southeast Division Nick Jurrens, Jefferson Elementary, Faribault Public Schools
- MESPA Southwest Division Doreen Oelke, South Elementary, Saint Peter Public Schools
- MESPA Saint Paul Division Sarah Lightner, Groveland Park, Saint Paul Public Schools
- **MESPA Minneapolis Division** Vicki Turner, Kenny Elementary School, Minneapolis Public School District
- Retired Principals of MESPA Jim Hoogheem

-- end --

The Minnesota Elementary School Principals' Association (MESPA) is the premier leadership resource for elementary and middle level principals, dedicated to connecting, developing, and providing resources for principals, and serving as a leading voice for Minnesota education.