• Home
  • 2015 SOE Validations

2015 Minnesota School of Excellence Validations

Six elementary schools validated as 2015-2016 Minnesota Schools of Excellence:

Carlos Elementary School, Alexandria Public Schools, Principal Lisa Pikop
Cedar Park Elementary, Rosemount–Apple Valley–Eagan Public Schools, Principal John Garcia
Cold Spring Elementary School, Rocori Public Schools, Principal Eric Skanson
Groveland Elementary School, Minnetonka Public Schools, Principal David Parker
Lake Park Audubon Elementary, Lake Park Audubon Public Schools, Principal Sam Skaaland
Miltona Science Magnet School, Alexandria Public Schools, Principal Lisa Pikop

The Minnesota School of Excellence Program promotes excellence through a rigorous evaluation process that showcases dynamic schools of the 21st century. Established by the Minnesota Elementary School Principals’ Association (MESPA), the program is recognized by the Minnesota Department of Education, as well as the National Association of Elementary School Principals, and was nominated for the Brock International Prize in Education – which “recognizes particular innovations and achievements in the field of education.”

Sam Richardson, chair of the School of Excellence Committee, said of the School of Excellence process, “It takes hard work and commitment to thoroughly assess areas of strength and at the same time plan for continual improvement. The SOE process provides an opportunity for the entire school community to reflect on the collaborative work being done and to celebrate these accomplishments. Schools that receive validation have had the important data-driven conversations about what a high quality 21st century learning experience should be for all students. Honoring the important work of dedicated staff, eager students and supportive communities is an essential component of becoming a School of Excellence.” Click here for more details

 Congratulations to our 2015 validated School of Excellence principals! 
Click school names below to read all SOE Press Releases

Lisa Pikop

 John Garcia
 Eric Skanson
David Parker
Sam Skaaland

Want to become validated as a School of Excellence?
Letter of intent due October 3, 2015
Application (parts 1 & 2) due June 6, 2016

The Minnesota School of Excellence (SOE) program promotes excellence through a rigorous 1 or 2 year-long, self-directed evaluation process that showcases dynamic schools of the 21st century. The schools earn validation by completing a school community self-study, developing a plan to build on evident strengths & address areas needing improvement, and assessing ongoing results from implementing the plan. SOE also enables to principals to earn CEU's. Learn More

MESPA is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

1970 Oakcrest Avenue, Suite 204
Roseville, Minnesota, 55113
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software